Navigation

Cloud Manager Roles

On this page

Overview

Cloud Manager roles allow you to grant users different levels of access to Cloud Manager. You can grant a user the privileges needed to perform a specific set of tasks and no more.

To assign user roles, see Assign Roles to Cloud Manager Users. You cannot assign your own roles.

Roles

The following roles grant privileges within a group.

Read Only

The Read Only role has the lowest level of privileges. The user can generally see everything in a group, including all activity, operational data, users, and user roles. The user, however, cannot modify or delete anything.

User Admin

The User Admin role grants access to do the following:

  • Add an existing user to a group.
  • Invite a new user to a group.
  • Remove an existing group invitation.
  • Remove a user’s request to join a group, which denies the user access to the group.
  • Remove a user from a group.
  • Modify a user’s roles within a group.
  • Update the billing email address.

Data Access Admin

The Data Access Admin role provides privileges to:

Monitoring Admin

The Monitoring Admin role grants all the privileges of the Read Only role and grants additional access to do the following:

  • Manage alerts (create, modify, delete, enable/disable, acknowledge/unacknowledge).
  • Manage hosts (add, edit, delete, enable deactivated).
  • Manage group-wide settings.
  • Download Monitoring Agent.

Backup Admin

The Backup Admin role grants all the privileges of the Read Only role and grants access to manage backups, including the following:

  • Start, stop, and terminate backups.
  • Request restores.
  • View and edit the namespaces filter.
  • View and edit host passwords.
  • Modify backup settings.
  • Generate SSH keys.
  • Download the Backup Agent.

Automation Admin

The Automation Admin role grants all the privileges of the Read Only role and grants access to the following management actions:

  • View deployments.
  • Provision machines.
  • Edit configuration files.
  • Modify settings.
  • Download the Automation Agent.

Owner

Every group must have at least one user with the Owner role. Cloud Manager does not let you remove this role from a user if no other user has it.

The Owner role has the privileges of all the other roles combined. The following additional privileges available only to Owner:

  • Set up the Backup service.
  • Update billing information.

Billing Admin

The Billing Admin role grants access to modify the account’s payment methods.