Navigation

Manage Alerts

Overview

Cloud Manager sends an alert notification when a specified alert condition occurs, such as an unresponsive host or an outdated agent. To view all alert notifications, click Alerts in Cloud Manager.

When a condition triggers an alert, you receive the alert at regular intervals until the alert resolves or Cloud Manager cancels it. You can acknowledge an alert for a period of time, but if the alert condition persists, you will again receive notifications once the acknowledgment period ends.

You can temporarily suspend alerts on a resource by creating an alert maintenance window. For example, you can create a maintenance window that suspends host alerts while you shut down hosts for maintenance.

Cloud Manager administrators define alert configurations on a per-project basis.

Resolved Alerts

Alerts resolve when the alert condition no longer applies. For example, if a replica set’s primary goes down, Cloud Manager issues an alert that the replica set does not have a primary. When a new primary is elected, the alert condition no longer applies, and the alert will resolve. Cloud Manager sends a notification of the alert’s resolution.

Cancelled Alerts

Cloud Manager cancels an alert if the alert configuration that triggered the alert is deleted, disabled, or edited, or if the open alert becomes invalid. Some examples of an alert becoming invalid are:

  • There is an open “Host Down” alert, and then you delete the target host.
  • There is an open “Replication Lag” alert, and the target host becomes the primary.
  • There is an open “Replica set has no primary” alert for a replica set whose name is “rs0,” and the target replica set is renamed to “rs1.”

When an alert is canceled, Cloud Manager does not send a notification and does not record an entry on the Cloud Manager Alerts lists.

View Alerts

1

Click Alerts.

2

To view all open or closed alerts, click the appropriate tab.

Closed alerts are those that users have closed or that no longer meet the alert condition. To view both open and closed alerts together, click All Activity.

3

To view alerts that meet specific criteria, click All Activity and filter the list.

  1. Type the alert type in the Types box.
  2. Select the dates in the From and To fields.
  3. Click Filter.

Download the Activity Feed

You can download the activity feed as a CSV file with comma-separated values. You can filter the events before downloading. Cloud Manager limits the number of events returned to 10,000.

1

Click Alerts, then the All Activity tab.

2

To specify events from a particular time period, enter the dates and click Filter.

3

Click the Download Activity Feed button.

Acknowledge an Alert

When you acknowledge the alert, Cloud Manager sends no further notifications to the alert’s distribution list until the acknowledgement period has passed or until the you resolve the alert. The distribution list receives no notification of the acknowledgment.

If the alert condition ends during the acknowledgment period, Cloud Manager sends a notification of the resolution.

If you configure an alert with PagerDuty, a third-party incident management service, you can only acknowledge the alert on your PagerDuty dashboard.

1

Click Alerts, then the Open Alerts tab.

2

Acknowledge alerts

  • For a single alert, on the line item for the alert, click Acknowledge.
  • For multiple, but not all, alerts:
    • Check the checkbox to the left of each alert to acknowledge.
    • Click Acknowledge above the table.
  • For all alerts, check the checkbox in the table header to select every alert.
    • It is also then possible to uncheck a few checkboxes to select fewer than all alerts.
3

Select the time period for which to acknowledge the alert.

Click the time frame for which you no longer wish to receive alerts.

Cloud Manager will send no further alert messages for the period of time you select.

4

If all Alerts were checked, select All Visible or All Open Alerts. (Optional)

If all alerts are checked, then another set of radio buttons appear:

  • Clicking Acknowledge all visible checked alerts will acknowledge all alerts that were loaded onto the page.
  • Clicking Acknowledge all open alerts will acknowledge all alerts: checked, unchecked, visible on the current page and those that have not been loaded on the current page.
5

Click Acknowledge.

Unacknowledge an Alert

You can undo an acknowledgment and again receive notifications if the alert condition still applies.

1

Click Alerts, then the Open Alerts tab.

2

On the line item for the alert, click Unacknowledge.

3

Click Confirm.

If the alert condition continues to exist, Cloud Manager will resend alerts.

Disable Alerts for a Specific Process

You can turn off alerts for a given process. This might be useful, for example, if you want to temporarily disable the process but do not want it hidden from monitoring. Use the following procedure both to turn alerts off or on.

1

Click Deployment, then the Processes tab, then the Topology view.

2

On the line listing the process, click the ellipsis icon and select Monitoring Settings.

3

Select Alert Status and then modify the alert settings.

Suspend Alerts by Adding a Maintenance Window

Specify maintenance windows to temporarily turn off alert notifications for a given resource while you perform maintenance. To view maintenance windows, click Alerts, then the Alert Configuration tab, then the Maintenance Windows filter.

Add or Edit a Maintenance Window

1

Click Alerts, then the Alert Settings tab.

2

Add or edit a maintenance window.

  • To add a maintenance window: Click the Add button and select New Maintenance Window.
  • To edit a maintenance window: Click the Maintenance Windows filter, then click the ellipsis icon for a mainenance window and select Edit.
3

Select the target components for which to suspend alerts.

Note that selecting the Host target selects both HOST and HOST_METRIC alert configurations returned through the alertConfigs endpoint.

4

Select the time period for which to suspend alerts.

5

Enter an optional description for the maintenance window.

6

Click Save.

Delete a Maintenance Window

1

Click Alerts, then the Alert Settings tab.

2

Click the Maintenance Windows filter.

3

For the window to delete, click the ellipsis icon and select Delete.

4

Click Confirm.