Navigation

Organizations

An organization can contain multiple projects (previously referred to as groups). Under this hierarchy structure, you can:

  • Use the same billing settings across all projects in your organization.
  • Use the same alert settings across all projects in your organization.
  • View all projects within an organization.

Create an Organization

Note

When you create an organization, you are added as an Organization Owner for the organization.

Procedure

1

Go to your user settings.

In the upper-right hand corner, click on your user name.

2

Click Organizations.

3

Click New Organization.

4

Enter the name for your organization.

5

Select Cloud Manager.

You have the option of adding a new Cloud Manager organization or a new MongoDB Atlas organization. For more information on MongoDB Atlas, see https://www.mongodb.com/cloud.

6

Add members.

  1. For existing Cloud Manager users, enter their username. Usually, this is the email the person used to register.
  2. For new Cloud Manager users, enter their email address to send an invitation.
7

Specify the access for the members.

8

Click Create Organization.

Once you create the organization, you can add projects, set the billing information to use for all projects within the organization, add users to the organization.

Leave an Organization

Important

To leave an organization, at least another user must exist as an Organization Owner for the organization.

Procedure

1

Go to your user settings.

In the upper-right hand corner, click on your user name.

2

Click Organizations.

3

Leave organization.

For the organization you wish to leave, click its Leave button to bring up the Leave Organization dialog.

4

Click Leave Organization in the Leave Organization dialog.

Delete an Organization

Note

To delete an organization, you must have Organization Owner role for the organization.

You cannot delete an organization that has active projects. You must delete the organization’s projects before you can delete the organization.

Procedure

1

In the Context dropdown, select the organization to delete.

2

Click Settings.

3

In the General Settings tab, click Delete.

This displays the Delete Organization dialog.

4

Click Delete Organization to confirm.