Navigation

Stop, Restart, or Terminate a Backup

Overview

When you stop backups for a replica set or sharded cluster Cloud Manager stops taking new snapshots but retains existing snapshots until their listed expiration date.

If you later restart backups for replica set or cluster, Cloud Manager might perform an initial sync, depending on how much time has elapsed.

If you terminate a backup, Cloud Manager immediately deletes all the backup’s snapshots.

Stop Backup for a Deployment

1

Click Backup, then the Overview tab.

2

On the line listing the process, click the ellipsis icon and click Stop.

3

Click the Stop button.

If prompted for an authentication code, enter the code and click Verify. Click Stop again.

Restart Backup for a Deployment

1

Click Backup, then the Overview tab.

2

On the line listing the process, click the ellipsis icon and click Restart.

3

Select a Sync source and click Restart.

Terminate a Deployment’s Backups

Warning

If you terminate a backup, Cloud Manager immediately deletes the backup’s snapshots.

1

Click Backup, then the Overview tab.

2

Click the backup’s ellipsis icon and click Stop.

3

Click the Stop button.

If prompted for an authentication code, enter the code and click Verify. Click Stop again.

4

Once the backup has stopped, click the backup’s ellipsis icon and click Terminate.

5

Click the Terminate button.