Navigation

Remove a Process from Management or Monitoring

On this page

Overview

You can remove a process from management, monitoring, or both. Removing a process does not shut down the process. You can remove individual processes or an entire cluster or replica set.

Managed Processes

Removing a process from management (i.e., Automation) means you can no longer control it directly through Cloud Manager. If you are removing a managed process and want to be able to easily stop and start the process after removal, you can create scripts for stopping and starting the process.

If you do not want to leave a managed process running after removal, shut down the process before removing it.

To unmanage all deployments at once, see Unmanage All Deployments.

You can continue to monitor the process after unmanaging it. If you do continue monitoring the process, you do not need to change any backups running for that process.

As an alternative to removing a process from automated management, you can temporarily suspend management of the process. This is useful if you need to temporarily shut down the process, for example for maintenance, and do not want Cloud Manager to automatically start the process back up until you are ready.

Monitored Processes

Removing a process from monitoring means Cloud Manager no longer displays its status or tracks its metrics.

Before you can remove monitored deployment, you must terminate the deployment’s backups.

See also

Instead of removing a process from monitoring, you can disable its alerts. You can see the process in the Deployment page but not receive any status alerts. To disable the unneeded alerts, see Disable Alerts for a Specific Process.

Procedures

Remove a Process from Management

1

Click Deployment, then the Processes tab, then the Topology view.

2

On the line listing the cluster, replica set, or process, click the ellipsis icon and select the option to remove it.

3

Select whether to also stop monitoring the process.

Select one of the following and click Remove. If prompted for an authentication code, enter the code.

Unmanage this item but continue to monitor Removes the process from management only. You can no longer control the process through Cloud Manager, but Cloud Manager continues to display its status and track its metrics.
Completely remove

Removes the processes from both management and monitoring. Cloud Manager no longer displays the process.

Before you can completely remove a managed deployment, you must terminate the deployment’s backups.

4

Click Review & Deploy to review your changes.

5

Review and approve your changes.

Cloud Manager displays your proposed changes.

  1. If you are satisfied, click Confirm & Deploy.
  2. Otherwise, click Cancel and you can make additional changes.

Remove One Process from Monitoring

Follow this procedure to remove one monitored process from Cloud Manager.

1

Click Deployment, then the Processes tab, then the Topology view.

2

Remove the process.

On the row listing the process:

  1. Click the ellipsis icon.
  2. Select Remove from Cloud Manager to remove the process. This button only appears if at least one process is unmanaged.
3

On the confirmation modal, click Remove.

If Cloud Manager prompts you for your password or 2FA verification code:

  1. Type your password or 2FA verification code.
  2. Click Verify.
  3. Click Remove.

Remove Multiple Processes from Monitoring

Follow this procedure to remove multiple monitored processes from Cloud Manager.

1

Click Deployment, then the Processes tab, then the List view.

2

Select all of the processes to remove.

On each row listing a process to remove, click the checkbox to its left.

3

Click Remove from Cloud Manager.

4

On the confirmation modal, click Remove.

If Cloud Manager prompts you for your password or 2FA verification code:

  1. Type your password or 2FA verification code.
  2. Click Verify.
  3. Click Remove.